Skip navigation

You are here


Automatic Consideration - Freshmen

Students are immediately considered for a scholarship package upon admission to Morris.

Achievement Scholarships

Based on information provided in the Application for Admission, admitted freshmen will be considered for Achievement Scholarship Packages, which range from $6,000 to $18,000 over four years ($1,500 -$4,500 annually). Students will be notified of their award with their letter of acceptance.

National Scholar Award

Non-resident and international students will be considered for our National Scholar Award, ranging from $500 to $2,000 per year. Students will be notified at the time of admission to Morris.

National Merit Scholarships

National Merit Finalists who choose Morris as their first-choice college will receive a full tuition scholarship, renewable for up to four years. Semi-Finalists and Commended Scholars are eligible for up to $4,000 disbursed evenly over four years, renewable for up to four years. Students must provide the Office of Admissions with documentation of their National Merit status to receive the award. Learn more about the scholarship process.

Automatic Consideration - Transfer Students

Students transferring to Morris from a college outside of the University of Minnesota system, with at least 30 transferable credits (not earned prior to high school graduation) and at least a 3.25 cumulative GPA (calculated based on transferable credits), qualify for a transfer scholarship package ranging from $2,000–$4,000 disbursed evenly for up to four consecutive semesters (does not include summer term). All transfer scholarships require students to maintain a 2.5 cumulative GPA and be enrolled for at least 12 credits at Morris.

Competitive Scholarships - Freshmen

Incoming freshman students are invited to compete for our top two scholarship packages. To be eligible, students must submit their application for admission and required materials by December 15. Recipients will be selected during a competitive interview events held at Morris in December and February.

Prairie Scholars

Prairie Scholars receive a scholarship package equivalent to full tuition, renewable for up to four years.

Morris Scholars

Morris Scholars receive a $24,000 scholarship package, disbursed evenly over four years, plus a one-time $2,500 scholarship stipend. The stipend may be used during the second, third, or fourth year at Morris to engage in an eligible scholarship experience (e.g., to study abroad, to participate in a research or artistic project, or to travel to academic conferences).

Music Scholarships - All Students

Clyde Johnson Music Scholarships honor Clyde Johnson, professor emeritus of music, who served Morris from 1961 until 1999. The scholarships are awarded to talented University of Minnesota, Morris students who are involved in music. It completely covers the fees for one year of weekly private, individual music lessons in the student’s performance area (instrumental or voice).

The University of Minnesota, Morris will host auditions for students planning to further their music interests in college.  While on campus, students will audition with music faculty, and awards will be given based on the music faculty’s evaluation of a student's audition as well as a brief discussion of musical background and goals.  This scholarship is awarded by the Music Discipline.

The Office of Admissions will be in contact about the opportunity to audition with admitted students who have listed themselves as having musical interests.  If you are interested in applying for the scholarship but unable to audition on campus, please contact the Office of Admissions.

Other Scholarships

Various other funds exist at Morris through institutional programs and the generosity of our donors. These scholarships are awarded based on information provided in the Application for Admission and the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) and will be a part of the final scholarship package. Visit the Office of Financial Aid website for more information.

General Requirements

With the exception of the National Scholar Award, students must be a U.S. citizen or Permanent Resident to be eligible to receive any of these scholarships.

All renewable scholarships are awarded on a per-semester basis for fall or spring terms only and require students to maintain a 2.5 cumulative GPA and be enrolled for at least 12 credits. The Prairie Scholars Award, Morris Scholars Award, and National Merit Scholar Winner Awards will replace any previous scholarship package award offers. National Merit scholarships cannot be combined with the Prairie or Morris Scholars Award.

Final scholarship packages may consist of academic scholarships, U Promise scholarships and donor-funded scholarship awards. A student’s award may be adjusted if institutional and outside awards cause the award to go over the cost of attendance (COA).